Studies

Despite declining Technical Actions across all manufacturers, the German OEMs register a substantial increase in 2017.

Munich – Based on data from the NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration), the management consultancy KBC has analysed the technical causes of product recalls over the past 20 years. Despite a decrease in Technical Actions in 2017 and a considerable decrease of the affected vehicles (reason: no mega event such as the airbag in 2016), the German OEMs have, in part, worsened considerably. For example, Mercedes recorded an increase of 65% in the number of Technical Actions and BMW an increase of 69% in the number of the affected vehicles.

It is interesting to note that, for the German manufacturers, comparatively few vehicles were affected per recall. On average, around 150,000 vehicles are affected per recall, with only 30,200 at Mercedes and 60,300 at BMW.

Technical Actions are divided into a total of 18 modules. The airbag module continues to be the frontrunner among the affected vehicles. In 2017, there were also significant increases in the engine/engine cooling, fuel supply and drivetrain modules close to the drives.

 

Press contact

E-mail: pr@kbc-consultants.com

Technical Actions in the USA - an Update

/ Studien

Trotz rückläufiger technischer Aktionen über alle Hersteller verzeichnen die deutschen OEMs einen erheblichen Anstieg in 2017.

München – Die Unternehmensberatung KBC hat auf Basis von Daten der NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) die technischen Ursachen von Rückrufaktionen der letzten 20 Jahre analysiert. Trotz eines Rückganges der technischen Aktionen in 2017 und eines erheblichen Rückganges der betroffenen Fahrzeuge (Grund: Kein Mega-Event wie z.B. Airbag in 2016) haben sich die deutschen OEMs zum Teil erheblich verschlechtert. So verzeichnet Mercedes bei der Anzahl technischer Aktionen einen Zuwachs von 65% und BMW bei der Anzahl betroffener Fahrzeuge einen Zuwachs von 69%.

Interessant ist, dass bei den deutschen Herstellern vergleichsweise wenige Fahrzeuge pro Rückruf betroffen waren. Durchschnittlich sind rund 150.000 Fahrzeuge pro Rückruf betroffen, bei Mercedes sind es nur 30.200 und bei BMW 60.300.

Technischen Aktionen werden in insgesamt 18 Module eingeteilt. Spitzenreiter bei den betroffenen Fahrzeugen ist nach wie vor das Modul Airbag. In 2017 kam es darüber hinaus zu erheblichen Steigerungen in den antriebsnahen Modulen Motor/Motorkühlung, Kraftstoffversorgung und Antriebsstrang.

 

Pressekontakt

E-Mail: pr@kbc-consultants.com

Technische Aktionen in den USA - das Update